Job Network
Sponsored by

Networking yourself

1,679 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Bayside Tiger Ag
Tex_Ag_2017
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am 1.5 years out of school and have been at my job for a little over a year. I have a degree in mechanical engineering but ideally do not want to do that forever. At some point, I want some sort of manager position or something more along on the business side. I strive to succeed but I don't see that from my coworkers. They seem completely content just being an engineer and being a nerd the rest of their life. I like my current job but feel there would never be any vertical movement and I am not sure if I will ever get a huge raise based on performance. The workplace is good for the most part but there is no accountability system in place. Luckily, most of the guys work hard.

I am wondering how to make connections for anything in the future 4 or 5 years down the road. I don't really know how to make connections with our vendors we have now or anything like that. I know that there is linkedin and stuff like that but how do I really put myself out there for the future?
Astroag
AG
LinkedIn...fully updated...and add people in your field, at companies you want to work for, recruiters, ags in higher level positions

Join professional organizations and attend the conferences, etc

If ya ain't cheatin, you ain't tryin!!!
Bayside Tiger Ag
Another option is to use the next couple years to determine what drives you while studying for and taking the GMAT. Do well on that and you could pivot to an MBA program that will get you fantastic opportunities to network in the areas you're interested in.

It really needs to be a top 20 MBA program in order to be worth it.
Tex_Ag_2017
AG
What is considered a top 20 program? And if I cannot get into one of these, are you saying it is pointless?
Bayside Tiger Ag
Tex_Ag_2017 said: