Job Network
Sponsored by

HR People....advise please

3,502 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by cypress-ag
cypress-ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Seeking HR input as I've been looking for work for the last 14 months. Last 10 years I worked in Sales calling on C level executives of companies from 20M to 500M and then up to 3B. Made the mistake jumping into a BDO role with a bank that offered me filth upfront money, strong base, stock and back end bonus for year one. They verbally committed to me a 5 year deal to get situated in the banking world, then cut the role after 18 months.

My prior sales area is very selected with few opportunities and when I've had the chance to interview they've gone with people with less experience and very little local knowledge. Starting to feel age coming into play but no one will every admit that. I can cold call and set meetings just need a chance to get back into that game. My resumes seem to go into a black hole on the LinkedIn platform. I continue to work the associates and friends for referrals but only seems to go so far. Did the Between Jobs Ministry in North West Houston as well but have not had much luck with it. Background for those jobs have been heavy IT and software sales.

So my question is, should I strip down my resume and remove the VP titles that I have carried as it seems like most have told me I'm over qualified when I do get a reply back on applications. I'm willing to step back for a few years if it's a quality company that will give me a chance to earn.

I also had a 16 year run prior to sales heading up a purchasing and construction services group with a restaurant group so I'd be will to utilize those skills as well. I'm up to relocation but would like to stay in Texas as my daughter is a Junior at ATM and won't to be close while she's in school. I just want to work again.
cypress-ag
AG
Anyone?
FC12