Job Network
Sponsored by

Questions About Renewable Energy Jobs in Texas

2,549 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by ElephantRider
Waiting On Natty
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I am currently completing my MBA with a concentration in finance and have an undergraduate degree from TAMU in AgriBusiness. I am interested in getting into wind or solar energy in Texas. I have 4 years of experience in O&G sales and account management. I would love to get anybody's opinion on business development positions in this industry (or any feedback about the industry itself). Any input would be greatly appreciated.

1. What are top companies in the industry?

2. Are there any accreditations or certificates that are required or would bolster my chances of employment in this industry?

Etc.

Gig'em and Thank you for your time.
ktownag08
AG
Pattern Energy Group
EDF
First Solar
Sunnova
EDP Renewables (yes, different than EDF)
Eon Climate and Renewables
Engie
Nextera

There's others, but those are some of the big ones. No special requirements or certifications to get into the industry.
Waiting On Natty
Thank you for your response.
tlh3842
AG
I've been in the industry a little over 6 months now (almost four years of consulting experience for energy overall including renewables). I'm on the environmental side; for licensing and permitting specifically as opposed to construction or operations. We are involved with projects from earliest concept to full-on construction, so we have a good perspective on the overall development side.

To be clear, the list above is not in order or fleet size that's for sure. But it does include most companies. NextEra won't be an option on the development side being based in south Florida and developers aren't allowed to be remote. There's an office in Houston, but it's 99% O&G with a small handful supporting renewables.