Job Network
Sponsored by

Recent EE graduate seeking employment

2,505 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by normaleagle05
AggieGradEE17
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Hi guys,

I graduated from A&M in December 2017 with a B.S. in electrical engineering. My background and internship experience is in power systems, and I would like to work at an engineering firm, ideally within the DFW metroplex (however, I'm open to anywhere). I'm looking into MEP firms as well, as I find that field really interesting. If anyone has advice on opportunities within the field of engineering design, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
07&09Ag
Have an email I can reach you at?
AggieGradEE17
Yep,

AggieGradEE17@gmail.com

Win At Life
AG
An EE in the MEP business will always be second fiddle unless you go back and get a MS in ME. ccrd is one of the exceptions that had an EE part owner but he has retired and ccrd sold out. Don't know much about them now.
AggieGradEE17
Interesting. I assumed a ME would be more involved with the HVAC side of things
Win At Life
AG
AggieGradEE17 said:

They are. But ME's are assumed to know the P as well. And the M & P is about 80% of the cost and problems associated with an MEP project so all the architects and owners expect to deal mostly with the Mechanical guys giving them a distinct advantage to winning clients and moving up the career ladder. An electrical can do it, but you're at a distinct disadvantage. Actually, electrical is on the slow path to promotion in just about every facet of construction that does not involve electrical only. Even then, like overhead power lines, a non-electrical is more likely to be the lead.
Rycher92
Let me know if you're are interested in the oil and gas industry. The opportunity would be in Houston.
UnderoosAg
AG
Depends a whole lot on the firm and personnel.
SidetrackAg
AG
Win At Life said:

AggieGradEE17 said: