Job Network
Sponsored by

Career Help

1,406 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Ulrich
dmperch
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy,
I've come looking for ideas or advice or suggestions. I'm finishing up my freshman year as a biology major, and I began intending to apply to medical school once I graduated. I've been doing things all through high school to gain experience and shadowing to learn about the medical field, so medicine is all I've ever really known.

After completing this first year, my GPA is at a 3.0, which would not be enough to even be considered for medical school. I realize I still have time to get it up, but I honestly don't believe that I am cut out for it, and I'd rather not waste another three years only to come up short.

I've always enjoyed building things and assembling things, which leads me to believe that I might also enjoy something like engineering or construction science. However, because I had always thought that I be a doctor, I never became familiar with other careers and what they consist of.

Basically I have come looking to see what the difference is between something like civil engineering vs construction science, what type of careers/jobs would be available, what type of experience I would need such as internships and extracurriculars, and anything else that you think would be helpful to make a decision.

I'm also aware that there's other professions in the medical field such as sales and stuff, but I still would like to keep an open mind to make a more informed decision.

This is obviously a pretty big deal and I have thought it over and slept on it for weeks, and all I ask for is other advice outside friends, family, and advisors.

Any and all help is appreciated.
Bird Poo
AG
Take a professional aptitude test administered through psychologists. It's not cheap but they will help you determine your interests/strengths/weaknesses.
coolerguy12
AG