Job Network
Sponsored by

Career Change Advice

918 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by HollywoodBQ
merlin403
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Ags,

Preface:

I graduated with a MS in Digital Forensic Science from a reputable East Coast university in July '17. Long term, I would like to find a career with the Federal Government doing digital forensics or penetration/vulnerability testing but in the interim I am looking for any Information Security opportunity where I can gain "real world" experience.

Dilemma:

Since November 2004, I have been employed with a major telecommunications provider as a Fiber Network Technician primarily assisting field technicians in resolving issues pertaining to the installation of residential and business customer fiber voice, internet, and television service. My job responsibilities are such that I have limited involvement in any InfoSec activity. I possess enough academic knowledge to understand critical "key concepts" (big picture) but really need daily interaction to strengthen my resume.

The most logical choice would be to try and find an InfoSec opportunity with my current employer. Unfortunately, these jobs are in New York and while I have no problem relocating my family it would need to be under the right circumstances.

Avoiding the argument of certifications vs. non-certifications, I will mention that I have several entry level certs. I am strongly considering earning my Certified Ethical Hacker as it achieves Department of Defense Directive 8570 but I have a hard time justifying the $950 voucher cost.

SANS training and certifications are also on my "wish list" but as with the CEH certification mentioned above, their cost is too excessive without employer assistance.

One avenue that I am considering is attending the free monthly OWASP meetings. Not only would I get to learn more about software security but it would also present an opportunity to network with others.

Recommendations: