Job Network
Sponsored by

Salesforce

2,000 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by ORAggieFan
gvine07
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Do you have any advice/guidance for someone looking to transition into a Salesforce role from a non-technical job?

Any advice about courses, certifications, meaningful experience, and job search is appreciated.
PanzerAggie06
AG
I've been using SF for about 8 months now. Overall I think its a great system but it does have a few minor flaws that tend to annoy me. To be honest I'm not sure if it is entirely the program itself or if it is how my company has us using it. The tool I like best is the mapping capabilities in the Geopoint area. I find it incredibly useful in planning sales meeting geographically.

On a side note SF can be a bit of a "Big Brother", for the lack of a better term. It allows the boss to see your activity level down to the minute. Its not a big deal in my company but I imagine it could be with certain outfits.
m-walker
AG
How successful SalesForce is to a company is 1000% based on internal or consultant custom programming.

No advise other than I think it's a solid path to go for.
ORAggieFan
Start with Trailhead. Tons on there.

What do you want to do. What is your background?

Certs are great and tons of options.

I spent 5 years and Salesforce and now run delivery for a partner. Happy to provide advice.
Astroag
AG
ORAggieFan said:

Start with Trailhead. Tons on there.

What do you want to do. What is your background?

Certs are great and tons of options.

I spent 5 years and Salesforce and now run delivery for a partner. Happy to provide advice.

This...and get the certifications

If ya ain't cheatin, you ain't tryin!!!
gvine07
AG
Thank you all for the responses! I'm pleasantly surprised this many people visit this forum to help other Ags.