Job Network
Sponsored by

Wanting to get paid overtime.

2,034 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Ulrich
Definitely Not A Cop
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Hey guys I have a question for you. I'm wanting to see if I'm being smart or selfish asking for overtime at my company.

A little background info. I have been working here for 3 years in April, entry level when I started out. I received a modest raise after my first year and was told I was graded out one of the best performance reviews in the office (which I took with a grain of salt, but still, nice to hear from your boss). About a month before the performance review for last year, i transitioned into an inside sales role. We also had just hired a new manager for the office. So when I went into my performance review, he based my performance for the year completely off the evaluations of the outside sales guys that I coordinate with. Only being a month into the new role, a lot of mistakes were being made, I was graded low, and actually ended up being put on probation with my company.

Since then I have put my nose to the grindstone and started doing everything I could to improve. I was being put through weekly evaluations with my manager up until two months ago, and while there always are new things for me to improve on, the underlying issues they had during my review were quickly addressed and taken care of. I actually liked them at that point, because although it sucked I was still having to do them, it was a nice way to meet and interact with the new boss and gain valuable insight to how he likes things run.