Job Network
Sponsored by

Need advice about gaining some business education

1,466 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by dcAg
carano
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Hi Ags,

I need some advice. I have a degree from A&M (Econ pols minor) and I work in a financial investigative role. I am in my early 40's, but my GPA was less than stellar. Due to personal issues, I only graduated with a 2.45. That was 20 years ago.

As I move up I am asked to do more things that involve business analytics. Obviously this is not my background. I don't want an MBA, but I really could use some education in this new world of responsibility.

I am looking at online graduate certificates, but my concern is my ridiculous GPA from 20 years ago. Just for a grad certificate, not even a degree.

Does anyone have any advice on if I should even bother with that or some other way of learning? A big book maybe lol.

Thanks.
gvine07
AG
I wish I had a book recommendation but I don't. Call one of the admissions/recruiting directors from one of the Graduate Certificate programs and talk to them. I bet they'll tell you that your undergrad grades from 20 years ago don't matter.
Gooder Poster
AG
Depending on how broad or specific the subject matter you need is, I would suggest looking at online providers like Udemy. They have business analytics classes and all sorts of subjects, and many classes are between $10-$50. I love their stuff, if you find it there then you don't have to worry about going back to get an MBA.

You can also look at classes at your local community college.
surveillancevantexags at gmail
HollywoodBQ
AG
I had a 2.5 undergrad GPA with a B.S. in Engineering. But... I also scored 99% percentile on the GMAT. I had no trouble getting into an MBA program. These days there are a lot of options out there. Executive MBA programs, online, etc. Just don't do University of Phoenix or something like that.