Job Network
Sponsored by

Aggie Law Grad looking for a firm job

3,932 Views | 21 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by BenFiasco14
ngalloway
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy

Law class of '17 interested in starting at a firm in Austin, DFW, Houston, or San Antonio. I was Law Review and #10 (top 7%). Most of my background is in transactional practice, but I'm interested in litigation as well. I've worked at the Entrepreneurship Law Clinic at A&M in Fort Worth (entity formations, company agreements,and websites terms of service), an Upstream Oil and Gas Company (multistate MSAs) and a boutique Estate Planning and Probate Firm (wills, probates, bankruptcies, entity formations, tax prep).

Any leads in one of the major legal markets would be appreciated. You can message me here or my gmail, ngalloway1.
Dr. Alister MacKenzie
Is the legal market this bad? You sound like a great candidate. Good luck.
ngalloway
AG
Thanks. The legal market isn't horrible, but it's hard to get started at the firms I'm interested in. Most either want people with a few years experience (which I have, but not as an attorney) or someone who can work with a summer internship hiring pipeline that I missed out on.
Astroag
AG
Its pretty bad...lol...unless you are from a tier 1. That along with the over-saturation of attorneys makes the salaries for non-top candidates pretty low especially relative to the cost of school

If ya ain't cheatin, you ain't tryin!!!
End Of Message
AG
What firms are you interested in joining?
Resistance to tyranny is obedience to God.
ngalloway
AG
In particular, Haynes and Boone because one of my old bosses worked there and spoke highly of it and Norton Rose Fulbright because I've noticed they seem to have a bunch of Aggies. Bracewell and Jackson Walker are also high on my list, but most other big firms would be a great opportunity too.
BenFiasco14
AG
Astroag said: