Job Network
Sponsored by

Having a hard time figuring out the next step in my career

2,760 Views | 12 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by PrestigeWorldwideAg12
ReloadAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I graduated in '04 with a degree in business finance and followed in my father's footsteps and became a residential construction manager which I've been doing in Austin for the last 11 years. I like the company I've worked for the last 3 1/2 years but there aren't any opportunities for advancement so I'm thinking it might be time to start to look to jump ship. At 35 years old I feel like if I don't make a move soon I'll be stuck doing what I'm doing for the rest of my career. The next rung on the ladder for me would probably be an area construction project manager in which I'd manage other construction managers but I'm not entirely sure that's what I want to do.

I'd be interested to see if anyone is in this same industry and has any ideas or advice on what an "out of the box" career move might be. I'm open to any suggestions including even moving into another industry. I have extensive customer service experience and experience running large single luxury single family and multi family construction projects so there has to be something else in which these skills might translate.

Thanks for any help or suggestions any of yall might offer.
MookieBlaylock
AG
Start your own company

ReloadAg
AG
Believe me, I've definitely thought about that. I'd need some investors though.
Koko Chingo
AG
What do you really want to do? Open a restaurant, play in a band, absolutely nothing, be a CEO???

If you thought about opening your own business, is that because you like the industry, like the thought of being your own boss, or both?

Not knowing you personally, there are careers that come to mind but you may just be in the same situation after the "new" wears off.