Job Network
Sponsored by

Passed Concerned, Now Worried, Approaching Scared

10,092 Views | 53 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by bbb78
Zip 88
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Howdy! Some of you here may have seen previous posts of mine over the years seeking career advice, networking contacts, and opportunity leads. Your responses have lead me to a few successes in the past, and I thank you for that.

However, due to market conditions within certain industries, and locations, those jobs did not pan out in the long run and I am currently employed in a minimum-wage job (hotel bellman), hustling for tips, in order to put some dent in my financial obligations. Unfortunately, hotel occupancy levels are down, hours may be cut, and tips are drying up. I thought that entry-level work into a new field (hospitality) would open up longer-term career opportunities for me, but that doesn't appear likely (although I'm just 8 months down the road).

I'm a 51-year old military vet who is worried about not being able to capitalize on experiences gained from a logistics background, and scared there won't be any opportunities in other areas. I have been passed over for employment consideration by FedEx, UPS, DHL, et.al., as well as other distribution companies. Applications for other entry-level work within hospitality have been turned down. I may need to consider Mr. Shelley's resume services! I have attended a few events at the local A&M club, and tried to reach out to industry professionals via LinkedIn, but the ROI has been nil.

My apologies if this comes across as being a bit whiny; I understand my situation is nowhere near as dire as some. I just need some feedback as to what the hell I'm doing wrong, and what I need to focus on in order to be given some serious consideration. Thanks in advance.

Joseydog
AG
As a veteran, I always recommend searching federal government jobs, which can be found at: usajobs.gov