Job Network
Sponsored by

Best tactic for obtaining a job in a different state

6,950 Views | 57 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Repeat the Line
2012AG_Brian
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
A little background on me, I graduated in 2013 with a degree in Finance and have worked at the same company doing Accounting/Analyst work for 4 years. So, I was waiting to hear back about a local job and just found out that there is a no compete that prevents me from getting the position in my current city, The Woodlands. Besides that position I had been wanting to get out of the state preferably to somewhere more scenic like Denver. However, I have no real plan as to the best way to land a job in a different city/state in my field of work. Is it best to go through a head hunter, try to network with past associates, or just pack up move out there and hope for the best on the job hunt?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Updated 2/27/18
Newest post was just a quick update. TL;DR version:
Got a job
Moving to SLC
Thanks for the help!
I'm moving to the MOUNTAINS!

ktownag08
AG
All of the above.

Apply to positions in your desired location with a well thought out cover letter stating your career goals and why you want to relocate to a city you've never lived in. As someone who's relocated employees to work for me, I spent a LOT of time during interviews asking about "Why (insert city)?", etc.
Splitag
AG
Have a resume critique. Be strategic. Use the tools available to you. I have found LinkedIn to be very helpful, but you have to do some leg work too. Write a targeted cover letter, and always network in any avenues that are available.
AggieC07
AG
The best way would be to actually move out there and start looking but also the riskiest.

Be prepared to have a really good reason as to why you want to move to Denver and how it fits into your long-term goals. There is a stigma against Texans that they will always inevitably end up back to Texas.
IrishTxAggie
AG