Job Network
Sponsored by

Structural Engineering Job Opportunity in Houston

1,198 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by bmks270
labayouboy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
My company, LJB, Inc., is looking to hire a structural engineer to design BUILDINGS (warehouses, office buildings, etc.). We're looking for a recent college grad and/or someone with 5 years of experience or less. If you are looking, know someone who is looking,and fit that description, contact me via private message. We DO NOT want someone that has primarily designed bridges or worked in oil & gas. Commercial building design experience is a requirement for those already in the job market.
jamaggie06
AG
Name of the company would be nice.
OCEN99
AG
Just curious, why would O&G experience disqualify someone from an entry-level role?
jamaggie06
AG
Interesting. I have lots of tilt wall experience. Cut my teeth out of school at a firm doing mostly tilt wall. Did four years and got my PE, moved back to Houston and have doing industrial and utility structural work since.
labayouboy
AG
It sounds sounds like you may have the background we're looking for.
labayouboy
AG
The thought is that candidates with commercial building design experience would be more familiar with the type of design (primarily steel, concrete, tiltwall,etc.), programs (RAM, Enercalc, RISA, etc.), & codes (IBC, ACI, ASCE 7) they would be asked to use. We aren't necessarily looking for someone who's spent the last 4-5 years designing pipe supports, pipe racks, skids, and/or tank foundations. Also as you may know, the salary expectations are different in oil & gas and commercial.
HerschelwoodHardhead
AG
labayouboy said:

Also as you may know, the salary expectations are different in oil & gas and commercial.