Job Network
Sponsored by

Does anyone enjoy teaching?

3,096 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by ghostofbucky
largelili
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I just moved back to Texas and should be starting up again with my old company in a new office. Same position I held before, same pay, different location. I am grateful it worked out. However, I can't let go of the feeling that I may enjoy teaching more. I taught at the collegiate level when I was a grad student and had a short contract as an Instructor, and I loved it. Would this translate to the middle or high school level? I know it's a vastly different environment.

The old/new job pays less than a starting teaching salary, gives the standard two weeks vacation, decent benefits and 401k. However, it is a consulting company and hours are generally 50 - 60 a week just to make 75% chargeability goals. Overtime is only given if chargeable hours are over 44 per week (essentially no one on salary gets overtime). There's a pretty high burnout rate especially among young people.

With teaching, I would make more at the beginning of my career (but probably not at the mid or senior level), there's way more vacation, good benefits and retirement. Hours during the school year are high as well with no overtime. Plus parents and admin can be terrible.

So there are pros and cons to both. Does anyone here actually enjoy teaching? I see a lot on this board about transitioning from teaching into something else. Has the teaching field become unbearable?
AgMarauder04
AG
I think you have to find the right content and school.

I'm in year 11. I teach physics and en engineering design class. I love every minute. Sure, I have rough spots with the kids, but I really couldn't imagine doing anything else.
zooguy96