Job Network
Sponsored by

How to get into bookkeeping?

1,545 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by OlArmy01
TxAggieGirl08
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
We had our daughter last summer and I've been staying home with her ever since. We're looking to get her into a daycare or MDO program soon and would like to get back into working without it being full-time. We're in the Dallas area.

I graduated with my BBA in Accounting and MS in Management Information Systems (PPA) and went straight to work for EY for 4 years and then went to industry for 3 years. I also have my CPA. During the time I was in industry I also taught Managerial Accounting and Quickbooks at a local community college at night. I'd love to teach more online classes but those are hard to come by.

I'm thinking bookkeeping would be something I'd be interested in, but not sure where to start. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!!
I Am A Critic
nm
Worlds Foremost Ag
AG
Try reaching out to firms in you area and inquire about any overflow work they might have
Habanero Guero
AG
Hahaha I opened this thread fully expecting you to ask how to be a bookie
combat wombat™
AG
I've just opened my own firm. When I left my previous employer I had a small book of business that I took with me. I let all of my potential referral sources know that I was now self-employed. ONE person helped me get my foot in the door with two people. One of those ended up being a huge client for me. The other I am still waiting to hear from.

So, I guess it's a matter of getting the word out and timing.

If you are not QuickBooks certified, I would suggest you get on that. TONS of small businesses use QuickBooks and QuickBooks Online. QuickBooks Online has a free ProAdvisor subscription level for accountants. QuickBooks ProAdvisor program will run you about $350-$500 annually but you get all of the software and training (CPE included) to get certified included in that price.