Job Network
Sponsored by

Need career advice

3,550 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by TheMasterplan
tessellate
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Howdy Ags,

I am a graduate chemical engineer with some internship experience in specialty chemicals industry. I have interviewed for a couple of positions in manufacturing/oil & gas but nothing has come of them. I have also looked at opportunities outside of engineering but it's the same story. I am honestly feeling kinda lost at this point - not sure whether to stay on this path or take my career in another direction (I have been advised to look at data science as an alternate career, but I am hesitant due to the cost and time commitment). Has anyone been in a similar situation and how did you get through or occupy yourself in the meantime?

Thanks.
Kenneth_2003
AG
Where are you?
tessellate
DFW area
hangman
look into sales engineering jobs and other things while continuing to look for chemical engineering jobs while you work. The online system will probably not help you land a job. You need to network in person and go to meetings for professional groups. Also get EIT on resume. It's not a simple process like it used to be.
Ragoo
AG
Alt-j
GarlandAg2012
AG
Do you have to stay in DFW? Would think you could land something in Houston or Beaumont/Port Arthur more easily than DFW.
tessellate
@hangman do you have any suggestions for networking sessions or professional groups?

@ragoo Right on! I couldn't come up with something clever so I just went with what was playing. lol

@garland I have had two interviews out of Houston but they didn't work out. I eventually navigated away from the houston/beaumont area due to the saturation of engineers. But I am pretty flexible on location - just need experience.

Thanks for all the responses!
tessellate
bump
HollywoodBQ
AG
I made the move from Environmental Engineering to Information Technology in the mid-late 1990s.