Job Network
Sponsored by

Is it wise to transfer into Mays?

1,523 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by aggiewhoop1
aggiewhoop1
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I have a 3.57 in economics, and will probably have a 3.7 after this semester. I have all the requirements to get into Mays. I am a sophomore, and will be going into my junior year next fall. The problem is, I will have 21 out of 33 credit hours of economics taken after this summer. Is it too late? I thought I wanted to go to law school, but I'm becoming interested in finance. I really wanted to graduate in 4 years. I also could just graduate with a high GPA in econ, and go a joint mba/jd program somewhere. But that will take around 4 years. I also could say screw it and try to double major since I've already gotten way passed an econ minor. Thoughts?

Related to jobs because I want to be able to make the most money possible.
Old Buffalo
AG
I think you should sit down and plan what you want to do, not just say "make the most money possible."

I know plenty of economics majors that have great jobs now, and I know plenty of finance majors that are doing nothing productive with their degree.

I'd also advise against a MBA/JD. Pick one or the other.
Keeper of The Spirits
AG
I transferred to Mays about 15 years ago, with plans to get a BBA then go to med school. I took a year to work at Big 4 firm doing consulting work and have been here ever since. I got an Info degree which was MIS, I think now it's called ISYS. Good career, great money and benefits. The hours and travel can be a grind though.
Keeper of The Spirits
AG
Also I advise against an MBA/JD. You'll spend another 3.5 years in school, wrack up 100k in debt, and sure you might get out making 165k at AMLAW top 100 firm working 70+ hours a week. However you better do well in Law school , those jobs are the easiest to come by.
hangman