Job Network
Sponsored by

Potentially looking for a job

2,967 Views | 15 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by BrazosDog02
BowSowy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am about to hit the 5 year mark in my career and am wanting to take a look at what is out there.

About me: I have a bachelor's and master's in Civil/Structural from A&M. I will likely have my PE this year (first time taking it). I will have 5 years experience this year. All of my work has been in O&G, the vast majority of which has been on offshore projects. I also have minor experience with downstream onshore. Most offshore experience is greenfield but I also have some brownfield experience. I have worked on large offshore projects and have a wide range of experience, mostly on topsides with a small amount of experience with jackets. Most recently, I am working with pre-service (lift, loadout, tow) design of topsides primary steel.

Just curious if anyone is looking for/knows anyone looking for O&G structural engineers.

Thanks!

Edit: Forgot to mention that I'd prefer to stay in the Houston area if possible.
HollywoodBQ
AG
BowSowy said:

Just curious if anyone is looking for/knows anyone looking for O&G structural engineers.

Thanks!

Edit: Forgot to mention that I'd prefer to stay in the Houston area if possible.
This is the part that always cracks me up... I'm looking for advancement opportunities but, I'm geographically restricted.

If you want to move up, want the next challenge, you're going to have to go to where the work is.
  • These days, I'd ask yourself, where do you think the next round of projects is going to happen now that oil is back above $50/bbl?
  • Secondly, I'd ask yourself, what firms do you think will be well positioned to win those contracts?
Once you know the answers to those two questions, you know where to start looking.