Job Network
Sponsored by

Unemployment ?

4,407 Views | 32 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by koadie
Cinco Ranch Aggie
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
So I have been out of work since last February. I just exhausted unemployment while striking out on yet another opportunity. I vaguely recall there was a federal extension of such benefits, up to 99 weeks, but I have not been able to find any evidence that supports that as still being the case. Anyone have any knowledge of that? Is that a program that has since ended?

I am a software developer with more than 20 years of experience working with tools such as .Net, C#, Visual Basic, Delphi, SQL Server, classic ASP, ASP.Net, JavaScript, VB Script, XML, Crystal Reports, MVC, Razor, HTML, CSS, RESTFul API, and Entity Framework. I am in Katy and primarily looking in the Houston area.
hangman
My benefits lasted for 6 months and the total was about 1 1/3 months salary. The extended benefits in Texas were available until 2013 when unemployment was high. Of course the oilfield gets the shaft when it's our time in need.
zooguy96
Off topic - have you looked at having your resume edited or done some networking?

This may be pointless for your situation, but the first has helped my family recently.
Cinco Ranch Aggie
AG
zooguy96 said:

Off topic - have you looked at having your resume edited or done some networking?

This may be pointless for your situation, but the first has helped my family recently.

I recently had a fellow software developer friend help me edit my resume to bring out more of my expertise than I previously had listed. I have received lots of calls from recruiters and had a few interviews as a result, but like I said earlier, I've been striking out on these interviews. Feedback I am receiving is that while they like me, they don't feel my skill set is exactly what they are looking for.
PlanoAg98
AG