Job Network
Sponsored by

2013 Industrial Distribution grad with O&G field engineering (SLB) experience

975 Views | 3 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by daneag
CorpsAg13
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy all,

Felt I might add my voice to the O&G chorus here eagerly awaiting an increase in activity levels. I've been reading posts on this board for several months now and respect the O&G experience I have seen many of the members exhibit. Sounds like most people here have been through several cycles and have the wisdom that comes from making it through. After dodging several rounds of layoffs, I was finally let go several months ago due to activity levels declining (early 2016).

I graduated a few years ago and went to work with Schlumberger as a field engineer in wireline. Worked briefly in the Middle East, then settled in Midland, TX where I worked both in Open & Cased hole wireline as well as microseismic monitoring for multistage fracs. Great exposure to all manner of well conditions both on the drilling and production side, at least as far as wireline goes. When I was let go I had been with SLB close to 2 years.

Our situation in Midland is stable, with my wife working for a large independent E&P company, but it has been very challenging finding work and I am hoping some of you seasoned guys and girls might have some advice concerning our situation.

I'm looking for a job out of the field if possible since we are starting to consider beginning a family, and with my degree in Industrial Distribution (basically Supply Chain Engineering) and broad upstream exposure, I feel confident I can score a job for an E&P somewhere in Midland. I of course am aware that our industry is still recovering and that now is not a time to be asking for much (job out of the field, working for an E&P, etc.), but I'd like to know if what I'm looking for seems unreasonable.

TL;DR -- Young professional with marketable skills & experience seeks advice from O&G veterans.