Job Network
Sponsored by

Executive MBA / Career Change

2,025 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by hangman
kag00
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am looking hard into pursuing an executive MBA and would love any feedback on my goals/situation. I also welcome advice from recruiters out there.

I graduated in 00 and have been working in CRE finance for 2 large national and one large regional bank since graduation. I have moved up and am making good money, beyond what is often the high end of a starting MBA grad would make. I still like CRE and the finance aspect but have grown to despise working for a regulated bank in any capacity (sales, risk, underwriting). I am also topped out career wise at the bank unless I want to move to another city. I want to move to another part of CRE and out of the banking world. The industry is very niche here in Austin and there have been a number of similar banks close shops locally and I don't want to get caught when my employer decides to downsize their CRE platform.

Given that I am the capital provider with a hard won relationship or am competition(non bank lenders) for most of the people I would want to work for it is extremly difficult to start hitting them up for a job without putting my current job on jeopardy. CRE is a very small circle here so word travels fast when you are making inquiries and you don't need that when you are pitching relationship. I would be willing to take a pay cut to get my foot in the door but have had no luck to date.

I am in Austin and want to stay here since I have built a strong environment for my family (2 under 7). My wife also has a great job and she wants to keep it.

To that end I am looking into an executive MBA program to aide the career change. It is pretty much McCombs or bust (have to swt your goals high) for me at this point due to quality, location, and alumni network and concentration in the field I want to work in.
topher06