Job Network
Sponsored by

Good online resume template?

3,703 Views | 12 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by JamesPShelley
ZooGuy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I've looked for a while, and most of them won't work for what I'm trying to write (a combination resume highlighting job skills while also listing positions held). Does anyone have any advice?

TIA.
Post removed:
by user
Rudyjax
AG
I have been recruiting for 20 years. You're either qualified or not. No resume is going to convince someone you do not know to hire you if you don't have comparable experience.
Bitter Old Man
AG
Yeah, I have been using the same resume for over 15 years when I got out of grad. I just add to it and take out stuff that's less relevant or old. I've gotten new jobs with it 5 times.
JamesPShelley

I agree with Unthought Known except for one thing:

A resume is not engineered to get a person a job. The primary, and only, purpose of a resume is to inspire an invitation for an interview. Period. A solid resume can serve a person for many, many, years provided the language employed in the document qualifies that candidate for an opportunity.

Once you get the interview, the function of the resume has been completed. Objective attained. The candidate closes the deal.

ABATTBQ11
AG
As far as templates, I've found that using a big table in MS Word and hiding all of the borders is an effective way to align and format information. It is much easier than seeing up a ton of tab stops, and you can selectively turn borders on to create lines between sections and delineate different information.

Byw, what kind of job are you looking for?
ZooGuy
AG
My career of choice is natural resources, but I'm currently looking for something in management or training, which I've done in most jobs in my career, since most of my Natural resource jobs have required me to move all over and I'm done moving.
Bitter Old Man
AG
You might check out Workmonger.com, I think they do education related jobs....
dagger
AG