Job Network
Sponsored by

Construction Science Degree?

8,365 Views | 30 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by schmellba99
longsisters
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Hi. I am a teacher and have a student interested in construction science. I wanted to see if I could get some feedback for him from those in the industry. Pros/Cons to this degree opposed to others in a similar vein. Also if he does do this, what the industry is like, lifestyle, pay, pros/cons, etc.

I know their is a huge range from small home builder to working for a massive company...but wanted to get some feedback for my student as I didn't personally know anyone in this field to connect him with.

Appreciate any help you might have!
JBLHAG03
AG
Good degree. Do NOT let him start in residential construction, as it does not translate well to other types and is hard to get out of. Main emphasis of COSC is/was working for a general contractor in commercial construction. Not sure how many stay in that career path, but after 5+ years it was not for me. Long hours in the field, working weekends, moving/driving from project to project. I've bounced around to construction advisory at a "Big-4" firm and am now a construction risk manager for a bank, working from home a few days a week, making as much, if not more than a Project Manager. The COSC department could do a better job explaining all of the different opportunities available with the degree.....