A&M Admissions question: Test Optional

4,985 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by 3rd Platoon
3rd Platoon
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm hoping that someone who works in admissions at A&M can answer this for me.

Of the Fall 2022 freshman applicants, what percentage of them applied Test Optional? How has this affected admissions to A&M?
double b
AG
As an educational consultant, I have noticed that my clients who submitted scores heard back sooner from admissions while some of my TO clients are still waiting to learn of their admission decision.

I will say that this year, the logic of TAMUs admission decisions are less predictable than any of the previous 10 years I've been in this industry. However, the one constant I consistently see is that a strong test score can make up for a lot in one's application if you're outside the top 10 percent. I've had a few clients outside of the top quarter of their class receive full admission or the gateway option with strong essays coupled with a solid test score.
3rd Platoon
AG
Like you, I'm also an IEC. I have many students who apply to A&M every year. Anecdotally speaking, I've observed that my clients who heard back earlier also submitted scores, but only Top 10% were outright admitted, save for a few very highly accomplished performers with Engineering aspirations (1500 SAT, Top 12%ish at competitive public school in DFW, straight A's, AP Calculus BC and AP Physics C, etc). My students who did not meet Top 10% or the example profile I gave were all offered waitlist, waitlist with Blinn TEAM option, or PSA. There has not been any in between; there have not been many holistic review admits to this point.