If You Think A&M is (or is Becoming) a Diploma Mill ...

16,551 Views | 54 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by TexasAggie73
94chem
How long do you want to ignore this user?
double b said:

double said:

Are you still an admission consultant? Do you have a child applying to TAMU?

I'm an educational consultant, and I typically help about 20 - 25 students each year apply to Texas A&M and to colleges nationally.

We paid a consultant about $2000 to help my daughter find a school. As a chemistry major, there were only 50 or so in each class. Even at 44K students, my classes were taught by research faculty. I keep up with several of them to this day. I never really understood, and now I panic thinking about, what it must be like to have thousands of people in your major. Even at the highest levels, you're still just a number. You graduate in a sea of anonymity. If you sink, nobody cares.

When I was a senior, my advisor called me on a Sunday afternoon because he noticed I was missing 3 hours to graduate. I told him I was taking a seminary course, and it would transfer in. Again, I never knew it while I was there, but today I can't fathom those years without a personal touch.

The consultant was well worth the money. Every private school in the state except unicorn Rice offered my daughter the same deal as A&M. They all magically offer scholarships that make them on par with full cost at A&M. The consultant found a small college out of state in an awesome place that will prepare her for grad school...maybe at A&M, where the world can finally shrink to its right size.

Go ahead. Look elsewhere. A&M won't care. They aren't capable of doing so.
94chem,
That, sir, was the greatest post in the history of TexAgs. I salute you. -- Dough
aggie93
AG
DannyDuberstein said: