High school AP and DC classes

5,905 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by HECUBUS
ag97tx
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
My son is a sophomore right now and is picking courses for next year. He has heard the English 3 AP is more analyzing and English DC is more writing. What courses does the DC one replace at A&M? I see English 103 and 104 and I only remember taking 104 at A&M. Do most students skip 103 because I think they did when I was a student.

His goal is going to A&M to major in engineering. He is leaning towards the AP class rather than DC because he would rather analyze than write. He will also be taking Calculus BC -AP, physics AP, computer science AP, us history AP, and a 2 hour engineering class where they design and build things.

Would you recommend AP or DC for English 3?
AggieAdvisor16
AG
A&M doesn't offer ENGL 103, only 104. You can transfer 103 in, but you can't take it at A&M. Most (all?) engineering majors will accept either 103 or 104.
OldArmy71
AG
What each AP course and DC course covers will be specific to the high school where he takes it.

There is a suggested curriculum from the College Board for AP English Language, but as I said, each ISD (and usually, each high school) decides what the actual curriculum is.

The AP English Language course is designed to cover the skills required in traditional college composition classes: understanding and analyzing how rhetoric works in non-fiction prose, speeches, letters, newspaper and magazine articles, and advertisements; how to write in the various modes of rhetoric (narrative, comparison/contrast, definition, etc.); and how to write effective argument/persuasive essays. There will probably be some sort of research paper.

That said, in Texas, many AP English Language courses also include various amounts of American Literature (though the actual AP exam does not cover American Literature at all).