Your spouse wants to get a PhD...

4,176 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Spider69
Carlo4
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Anyone else currently going through, or been through, a situation where the spouse is getting a PhD? How was it?

Our current situation:
-Received a $100,000 grant at OU plus stipend for full time
-3 year timeline. Goal to be a college professor.
-no kids, but our timeline would be having 1st during program (early 30s for her)

I'm incredibly excited for her and proud of her. However, I fear for the long nights, strain on a relationship, and being away from all our family/support (everyone is in DFW area).

Thanks for any feedback... I'm a worrier by trade. I found out about this tonight so my head is spinning! Unfortunately, she has about a week or two to answer in the affirmative!
double b
AG
To achieve your PhD in three years is a very fast and tight timeline. How confident are you that she will finish "on time?"

What field of study is her discipline?
AggieAdvisor16
AG
I agree with double b that 3 years is a pretty quick turnaround for a PhD. I guess it depends on what your wife is studying, but typically the tenure process for faculty at even a decent institution is rigorous and stressful. The number of people who get divorced while going through the tenure process is something obscene, like 70+%. And all of that would be after she graduates and is working.
Carlo4
AG
Thanks for the response. I cross posted in the job forum also. She and I both certainly don't want to take her out of one stressful situation to an even worse one. All signs point to an even difficult challenge for her in academia.

Hoping to get her out of the current job to reset and make a better decision without all the pressure.
mrsbeer05
AG