Chem 107 & Physics 218

1,955 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by TheMasterplan
EthanAG
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Any advice? I am in General Engineering and in a bind. I am behind to meet necessary class criteria to apply for my major for second round applications, my ETAM. If I don't meet such criteria, I'll have to pursue a custom application process for my major since I'll miss the last, second round of applications. Has anyone done this? If so, advise for/against it? Is it much harder to get accepted to my preferred major (Mech Engr) going the custom route? Any advice?

In order to avoid the above scenario, I would need to take Chem 107/117, Physics 218, and Engr 112 all simultaneously in Fall 2017 at A&M. I feel that it is academic suicide. I'm a good student who studies but struggles test wise. It is definitely a tough load and I feel may be even riskier than taking my chances with the customized route. Anyone have experience with this? Advice?

Any info is much appreciated! Thanks!
Ridge14
Are you also taking Math 151/152?

Graduated in 2014 so I don't have any experience with the general engineering and then transfer stuff, but eventually later in lower level or in upper level you're going to have to take a number of engineering classes all during the same semester. I'm guessing everyone is really trying to have top grades early on now so they can get their first choice major?

I honestly don't think ENGR 112, CHEM 107, PHYS 218 is a bad load - mostly everyone I know did it, except 208 instead

You'll eventually get to look forward to semesters like:
MEEN 357 - If it's still the same, the project will dominate your life
MEEN 363
MEEN 344
MEEN 360

Chipotlemonger
AG
MEEN 357. Classic.