scholarships at A&M?

1,895 Views | 6 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by JustPanda
rdselman95
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
As a former student I get asked to donate more money all the time to fund scholarships at A&M. I read articles in every issue of Texas Aggie magazine about the scholarships.

My question is...who gets those? My son is in top 5% with a 32 ACT and was offered loans only. Are they all given to 1st generation college students or low income students?

Where does an average kid (who happens to be a really great student) go for free aid dollars?
powerbelly
AG
They don't.

If your parents were college educated and middle class there is very little money to be had.
histag10
AG
rdselman95 said:

As a former student I get asked to donate more money all the time to fund scholarships at A&M. I read articles in every issue of Texas Aggie magazine about the scholarships.

My question is...who gets those? My son is in top 5% with a 32 ACT and was offered loans only. Are they all given to 1st generation college students or low income students?

Where does an average kid (who happens to be a really great student) go for free aid dollars?

Private scholarships that are merit based and not income based. Also, scholarships at A&M are applied for separately than Financial Aid (I believe). Financial Aid is 100% need based, while some of the scholarships are department /merit based. His scholarship application would have been different from the FAFSA, and his award letter would have come separately.
JustPanda
AG
When I was at A&M, Nation Merit Scholars got the $1,000/year and were also given PES and other scholarships like Lechner. I got a Mitte Scholarship from the business school. I think it was like $10,000/year alone. When you combined the NMF award with the PES and the Mitte/Lechner, I ended up making money.
Oogway