Should I transfer into Mays?

2,115 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by aglaes
aggiewhoop1
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I have a 3.57 in economics, and will probably have a 3.7 after this semester. I have all the requirements to get into Mays. I am a sophomore, and will be going into my junior year next fall. The problem is, I will have 21 out of 33 credit hours of economics taken after this summer. Is it too late? I thought I wanted to go to law school, but I'm becoming interested in finance. I really wanted to graduate in 4 years. I also could just graduate with a high GPA in econ, and go a joint mba/jd program somewhere. But that will take around 4 years. I also could say screw it and try to double major since I've already gotten way passed an econ minor. Thoughts?
powerbelly
AG
If you are interested in finance, then there are programs like Aggies on Wall Street that require you to be a finance major.

aggiewhoop1
AG
That literally did not answer my question whatsoever
powerbelly
AG
aggiewhoop1 said:

That literally did not answer my question whatsoever
You asked for thoughts. I gave you something to consider in regards to transferring to Mays or staying in Econ.

If you want to participate in Aggies on Wall Street or several other finance focused programs, you have to be in Mays.

You can work in finance with an Econ degree, but the road may be more difficult. I know the MS finance degree is a popular option for those willing to stay for a fifth year.
Token
AG
you don't need a finance degree to get into finance. Hell, 90% of the investment bankers majored in some liberal arts study. You'll just have to network a little harder because you're coming from A&M, which is not at all perceived to be a finance school by a lot of wall street guys. I would work my ass off to work at an investment bank, take the GMAT while you are in school, and then apply to an MBA program after 2-3 years at the bank
powerbelly
AG
Token said: