Is there an online database for scholarly research?

2,122 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Kugelfang52
Lord_TyTy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'm having to write an argumentative essay for POLS, using credible academic sources to back up my argument, but searching on Google and trying to filter through all of the unresearched amateur think pieces isn't cutting it. Suggestions?
histag10
AG
You have access to some pretty awesome databases through the library website

http://library.tamu.edu/search/databases.html

JSTOR and EBSCO are what I typically used in college.

What year are you? It makes me really sad if you are farther in college than a freshman and no one showed you these before. They were my biggest go to for research besides sitting on the 5th and 6th floors of Evans with a crazy amount of books and sticky tabs.
UndergroundAg
Google Scholar hoe!
Lord_TyTy
I am a Freshman...I'm in an Honors course.
histag10
AG
Lord_TyTy said:

I am a Freshman...I'm in an Honors course.

That makes me not quite as sad, though any professor teaching a freshman course and wanting research should have directed you to this area of the library's website.
Koko Chingo
AG
Make an appointment with a reference librarian at the Evans Library. Your major/college will have a specific one assigned.

The search function for journals via the library website is not as intuitive as Google. They will give you some amazing tips to be very efficient in your searches. Additionally, they will give you a cheat sheet of the most popular journals used by your major and the subject matter covered.