Does anyone know the 2016-2017 Acceptance rate?

6,631 Views | 24 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Prescient
P-Dex
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Online it says that the acceptance rate is about 70%. I find this hard to believe.
I know this topic has been brought up before but I am an incoming freshman and would like to know the actual rate for this year.

(NSC Counselors all said ~10,000 of 40,000 applicants were accepted) not sure how accurate this is because each counselor had different numbers.
Lone Stranger
The jargon terms are important so you don't compare apples and oranges. A&M's acceptance rate has varied from approx 64-70% over the last 5 years or so. About (not precise) half of those accepted do not actually enroll. I think I remember an avg of 47% enrollment compared to acceptance except for the year after JFF won the Heisman when the number spiked up. Many A&M accepts are waiting on ivies, Rice, or significant scholarship offers at private schools to ultimately decide where they want to go.

Sometimes you hear people quote numbers with Blinn Team admits (a pretty big number anymore) and sometimes not so the actual enrollment numbers can swing pretty wildly from person to person quoting numbers. A&M considers Blinn Team as full admits but also tracks the numbers without Blinn Team so both numbers can sometimes show up in peoples calculations.
Chipotlemonger
AG
Probably too high
Furlock Bones
AG
quote:
Probably too high
definitely too high.
Oogway
As the above poster referenced, I believe the terms you are looking for are: applied, admitted and enrolled, correct?

These numbers are for Fall 2015, I think that the numbers for 2016 don't really become finalized until September?

Fall 2015
Applied: 38,705
Admitted: 24,686
Enrolled: 12,196

So, if you use the word 'accepted' for enrolled, then 10,000 for 2016 would be lower (which would surprise me) but they may have been rounding...
Pro Sandy
AG
quote:
quote:
Probably too high
definitely too high.