Horizons Program

8,955 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by DallasAg2
Travisw101
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'm a student at Mays and i'm thinking about applying for the Horizons program. What are the benefits of the program? What's the difference in Horizons and the i-bank program? How competitive is it? Any info is appreciated.
Duncan Idaho
For the olds....what is the program?
Travisw101
^ It's a program that I assume is run by alumni rather than through the school, with two guilds, consulting and investment banking. It seems similar to the i-bank program in that it helps you land a job and internship.
Ag13
AG
The difference is Horizon's is not an academic thing. They put in the I-Bank program after I graduated but when I was in school, it seemed like 90% of the people (from Mays) that ended up doing banking went through Horizons. I was in it and it will give you great access to networking and help you prepare for the interviews and the entire process of banking or consulting. Even if you are just thinking about doing either of those careers I recommend applying.

If you are set on doing investment banking, there should be no reason that you aren't doing the i-bank program. You are allowed to do both that and Horizons.

Good luck, check out Business Fellows, Titans, and the Tanner fund also. The most successful young professional people I knew from college did some combination of Fellows, Titans, Tanner, and Horizons.
stonana
AG
All I know is that I run A&M for my bulge bracket bank in Houston and 99% of the people we interview come from Horizons. If you tell me you are in the I-banking program but not in Horizons then I assume you either couldn't get into Horizons or you weren't serious enough to know that you should apply for Horizons. Most people also do Fellows and Titans, but I believe both of those would come after you should already have an i-banking internship lined up
Fightin03