Amazon Smile terminating in about a month.

4,759 Views | 38 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by YouBet
Buck Turgidson
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Many of you may be aware that Amazon Smile let you name a charity of choice and have a tiny fraction of your purchases directed to that charity. I've been using that for several years to benefit the private school that my kids attend. Well it turns out that after several years my purchases generated a whopping $11.46 for the school. The hundreds of parents all have, over the entire course of the program, generated a little over $3,300. Pretty weak.

Now Amazon is cancelling the program altogether and instead they will concentrate the funds to benefit only a small number of woke charities. Being liberals, they took a weak program and made it worse. This is the kind of crap that happens when you allow a company to achieve a virtual monopoly. It would be pretty hard to just boycott Amazon at this point and buy everything you want from dozens of separate vendors. I'm not aware of a serious Amazon competitor either.

https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/company-news/amazon-closing-amazonsmile-to-focus-its-philanthropic-giving-to-programs-with-greater-impact
Beckdiesel03
AG
Wow, we do the same thing for our kids private school. I had no idea it was going away. Gotta love the world we are in.
dead
AG
Which of the listed charities do you have a problem with?
Malibu
Can't you just go to the store?
PLUM LOCO
AG
https://texags.com/forums/16/topics/3356877#64116656
JohnLA762
AG
Why not just contribute your money directly rather than through the "evil empire" that is Amazon?

girlfriend_experience
LOL how dare a business do whats best for it cause of muuuuuuuh charity.
coconutED
AG
Buck Turgidson said:

It would be pretty hard to just boycott Amazon at this point and buy everything you want from dozens of separate vendors.
It's actually not.
fightingfarmer09
coconutED said:

Buck Turgidson said: