Labor shortage. Where did they go?

7,112 Views | 78 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by DannyDuberstein
GenericAggie
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
At the IHOP on Hwy 6 after the game. The other IHOP going south on Hwy 6 is closed. This one has shortened hours. We walk in to see the restaurant 1/2 empty because people keep coming and leaving. 2 waitresses. 2 people in the kitchen and I think they're both managers.

Where are the workers? How are people making money if they're not working. Stimulus checks stopped a year ago.

Seriously - WTF is going on.

Separately, I work in the tech industry and it's a mess as well. Our applications are down 50% YOY. People barely respond to reach outs on LinkedIN. We're about to grow headcount 25%-30% and I'm not clear how we're going to do it.

Our customers ALL say the same thing. They can't find people. It's BIZARRE.

It's a huge portion of the workforce has disappeared. The hospitality industry - hotels, restaurants specifically, are struggling to re-hire people they laid off.

aggiecouch
Rona got em all
ttu_85
GenericAggie said:

At the IHOP on Hwy 6 after the game. The other IHOP going south on Hwy 6 is closed. This one has shortened hours. We walk in to see the restaurant 1/2 empty because people keep coming and leaving. 2 waitresses. 2 people in the kitchen and I think they're both managers.

Where are the workers? How are people making money if they're not working. Stimulus checks stopped a year ago.

Seriously - WTF is going on.

Separately, I work in the tech industry and it's a mess as well. Our applications are down 50% YOY. People barely respond to reach outs on LinkedIN. We're about to grow headcount 25%-30% and I'm not clear how we're going to do it.

Our customers ALL say the same thing. They can't find people. It's BIZARRE.

It's a huge portion of the workforce has disappeared. The hospitality industry - hotels, restaurants specifically, are struggling to re-hire people they laid off.