Gnosticism and the Hammadi Library

1,846 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Woody2006
Tibbers
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I've been reading these texts lately and have found them to be great importance to understanding Jesus. Specifically it fills in the blank of Jesus as a child, growing into adulthood and the many miracles His birth brought about. It also focuses a lot on mysticism and offers a different older account of Genesis. I'm new in my studies and havent finished all the books but I was curious about y'alls take. Have you ever read them? What is your perception of them if you have?
Serotonin
AG
I have not read them but would caution to tread carefully. The NT scriptures were written and the canon formed for the Church by the people within the Church.

As I understand it Gnostic and other writings were often excluded precisely because they include many false teachings and lead to a misunderstanding of who Christ is, which is very dangerous. But that is my uninformed opinion, there are many posters here who know more than I do on this subject.
Ordhound04
AG
The Gnostic gospels were written after the original epistles and Gospels of the New Testament were written. In fact Iraneaus, taught by Polycarp, Who is taught by John the apostle was one of the most ardent detractors of Gnosticism.

I've read some of them, and they depict hey Jesus that says a woman must become like a man to be "fit to live". The gnostic infancy gospel portrays a child Jesus, who murder punches kids and adults as a child.

Another of the Gnostic gospels says that Jesus wasn't fully man, but that the spirit of Jesus basically possessed another person.

Another of the gnostic texts claims that Jesus was never crucified, instead Simon of Cyrene was.

Yet another Gnostic text claims that the God of the Old Testament was actually an evil demiurge, and that material creation is evil.