Lordship salvation vs grace alone

18,615 Views | 369 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by AgLiving06
Zobel
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm not an expert on the Roman teaching but I suspect there is nuanced that is not being considered.
dermdoc
AG
I was brought up in a Southern Baptist Church where the judicial was always emphasized. I am changing slowly to where I realize my faith is not just "fire insurance" but also a means for living a more fulfilling life. It is very hard to shake away the condemnation aspect of salvation after so many years. It almost becomes a default position when things go crazy.
No material on this site is intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. See full Medical Disclaimer.
Zobel
AG
It doesn't have to be either / or - it can be both / and.
dermdoc
AG
Oh, I agree. Being an OCD perfectionist,I concentrate on my faults. And the damnation stuff intensifies it. This site helps me a lot.
No material on this site is intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. See full Medical Disclaimer.
AgLiving06
k2aggie07 said:

I'm not an expert on the Roman teaching but I suspect there is nuanced that is not being considered.

Certainly it's more nuanced.

However, if you are a Protestant looking to insert works back into the equation, why not just go back to the Church that's been refining requirement for longer that Protestantism has been around.
Zobel
AG
One way of examining our faults is good - to understand correctly our place before God. This is to acquire humility, and is a gift of grace. The other way is not good, and it is to set ourselves as judge over ourselves, trying to perceive our relationship with God by our own knowledge. This has to be avoided, it's a perversion of true humility.