R& some P: Question for Christians in Academia or the Social Sciences

1,303 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by PacifistAg
PaulSimonsGhost
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy, gang!

Being a conservative in the field of clinical psychology or any the liberal arts is much like being a Roman Christian in 87 C.E.

We haven't seen this level of persecution since Martin Luther placed his post-it notes on a church door in Germany.

I can't imagine how Christians in academia do it. If you're a Mechanical Engineering or Patrolum Engineering prof you can stick to the curriculum I'd imagine. But biology can get tricky and Liberal Arts is a mind field.

Eventually you will be forced to say, "Sorry guys, I can't do that," And then all the heads turn to you and the temperature drops 20 degrees.

"WHY exactly can't, you do that, John/Jane?"

As a therapist I've been forced to clarify my counseling practice as being Christian based in fairness to potential clients. It has ostracized me from the mainstream clinical community.

I don't try to convert gays to heterosexuality, I'm not immune to profanity, I don't necissarily try to push unmarried parents to get married, I sometimes endorse divorce as an option and I'm very sympathetic to the plight of transgender clients.

But I'm also direct about what scripture says and the consequences we face from ignoring God's strategies for our lives.

Yet, being affiliated with Christianity has certainly hurt me among those in the predominantly secular clinical therapy community. Sometimes it's direct hostility, but usually its,

"Oh..." and then the polite, subtle brush off.

You don't even have to be vocal or adversarial, just BEING a Christian or a conservative is all they need to know - they'll fill in the blanks on their own.

I'm not asking for advice, and I DON'T mean to sound like a whiner. Christ was up front about the world hating us.