Is upgrading home AC a thing? Or is AC capacity relative to sqft a fixed thing?

2,676 Views | 29 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Ghost of Bisbee
lancevance
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Do people upgrade their AC to make it colder? Or make it colder faster? Just a random question. My ac is working fine.
Texasyankee
I would like to know this too. Our a/c works, but it seems to run an exorbitant amount of time when the mercury goes above 90.
george1992
I replace our HVAC unit every other year. I hate being at a party and someone asking what seer our AC is and not being with the latest. I pride myself in winning every pissing contest.
txags92
AG
lancevance said:

Do people upgrade their AC to make it colder? Or make it colder faster? Just a random question. My ac is working fine.
I am far from an expert, but a not insignificant number of builders will undersize the AC units as a way to cut costs on a house. My understanding is that the loose rule of thumb is to size the unit at 1 ton per 500 sq ft. So lots of builders will do stuff like put a 4 ton unit in a 2450 sq ft house. Or undersize the intake so that the system doesn't put as much air across the coils. It isn't uncommon for HVAC companies to recommend up-sizing the intakes or duct work to increase the air flow or to upsize the outside unit to address the corners cut by the builder. Sometimes it is a real issue and will make a real difference, other times it is just BS to make more money off of a sucker customer.
Leeman
Asking questions without showing a pic of large cans ?
riverrataggie
AG
I just redid my 5 ton and 3 ton units, HVAC, ducts, etc.

They were both about 20 yo and one went out.

I will say this. It is way more efficient and cools down much quicker. That said, they were ~20 yo units.
wbt5845
AG
I replaced both my old R22 units since they were leaking refrigerant and it was $$$$ to keep adding it.

New ones can really cool the house fast, but are a little loud since they're so much bigger.