What's the new "6-Figures"

10,895 Views | 115 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by azul_rain
FIDO*98*
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Just thinking about back when I was a grad and making a hundred grand was a big deal. Now days you can barely eat on 100K much less raise a family. What's the new term for a decent salary? Double 6? Quarter M?
Texker
AG
Unemployment benefits
ABATTBQ11
AG
Not only do we (family of 3 with another one coming) eat on $100k, we manage to put some away. After all is said and done, with expenses, taxes, and 401k, we're still putting away everything my wife makes plus about $15k-$20k.
azul_rain
$250k
azul_rain
If you can't live on $100k as a single adult you have some big issues pal
John Francis Donaghy
Assuming class of 98 as OP's username implies: $163,836.81, which accounts for a 63.8% cumulative inflation rate since 1998.
Ulrich
100k is still more than most families make, but the same relative wealth/status is probably around 200k.
Jugstore Cowboy
AG
We need the wrestler, Skran, and Scimitar to answer this.
cisgenderedAggie
Barely eat?
bladeag12
AG
You are joking right? 100k is way more than enough.
Gilligan
AG
You haven't met my wife!
chaca5151
FIDO*98* said:

Just thinking about back when I was a grad and making a hundred grand was a big deal. Nowadays, you can barely eat on 100K, much less raise a family. What's the new term for a decent salary? Double 6? Quarter K?

It sounds like someone is trying to keep up with the "Jones," maybe stop buying a bunch of depreciating assets. I thought I was balling at 80k when I was single; I had a ton of money and minimal expenses. I had fat savings account up until I got married.
Not everyone gets the same version of me. One person might tell you I have an amazing beautiful soul. Another might tell you I’m a cold-hearted a$$^ole. Believe them both. I don’t treat people badly. I treat them accordingly - unknown
permabull
AG