End of the year school awards ??

6,259 Views | 66 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by BostonAg74
jja79
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Your son sounds swell. My oldest didn't finish his M. D. until age 31. Kind of a laggard.
Agfootball10
AG
I got the "Calligraphy Award" when I graduated 8th grade. It was not a compliment of my handwriting, it was an award making fun of my hand writing. I thought it was pretty funny. A teacher today would probably be fired for bullying students if they did the same awards today.
GiveEmHellBill
AG
Okay, I've been reading this thread trying to hold my tongue, but there's just so much wrong with this starting with the OP's original post. My wife is a teacher in CSISD, so I've checked with her to make sure this is all correct.

First off, the OP says that a "neighbor who is a teacher" told him that they have an awards ceremony and they are mandated to hand out an award to every student. This is technically correct but misleading. There are six six-week grading periods in a school year. Each six weeks, there is an awards ceremony during school for each grade where a handful of students in each class are given awards that the teacher can personalize to the student. Over the course of the entire school year, each child gets one. And again, this ceremony is held during school and takes less than an hour. The OP said that this was done at the end of the school year and every student got an award. Did anyone else think that this sounded absolutely stupid? According to the premise of this thread, every school apparently has a Grand Ceremony at the end of the school year where every student is brought up on stage and handed a Participation Ribbon? Really? There are hundreds and hundreds of kids at these schools. These ceremonies would last longer than high school graduations. And where would they hold these ceremonies for elementary schools? In the school cafeteria?