Sage Northcutt - The next Time Tebow? (Article from BR/CNN)

2,209 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Sweep4-2
class12of
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
quote:
THE MOST VIOLENT SPORT IN THE WORLD NOW FEATURES A PETROLEUM ENGINEERING MAJOR AT TEXAS A&M WHO NEVER EARNED ANYTHING LESS THAN AN "A" ON A REPORT CARD.

"Gospel in the Cage"

http://thelab.bleacherreport.com/gospel-in-the-cage/?utm_source=cnn.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=editorial
Scotty Appleton
Kid needs to dump his daddy as a coach and get out of Texas to train with real fighters. He has great potential, but weak cardio and can't defend takedowns. He hasn't even fought a good wrestler yet and can't keep journeymen from dumping him on the ground.
light_bulb
AG
I'm fairly new to watching MMA, but it seemed like sage shouldn't have been able to get out of that arm bar once it was locked in. Impressive perseverance, but I agree he went down too easily a couple times and a higher caliber opponent would probably have punished him for it.

As in any sport, you only improve your skills when you are training with the best people on a daily basis. I'm not informed about his current situation training with his dad so I will reserve judgment for others who are more knowledgeable.
mm98
AG
quote:
I'm fairly new to watching MMA, but it seemed like sage shouldn't have been able to get out of that arm bar once it was locked in. Impressive perseverance, but I agree he went down too easily a couple times and a higher caliber opponent would probably have punished him for it.

As in any sport, you only improve your skills when you are training with the best people on a daily basis. I'm not informed about his current situation training with his dad so I will reserve judgment for others who are more knowledgeable.

His arm was trapped palm up which allows for a lot more bending. Marin should have locked it in thumb to the sky and it prob would have ended.