Home Improvement
Sponsored by

Replacing toilet wax ring

4,314 Views | 22 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by CapCity12thMan
Señor Chang
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I took the toilet out to replace the wax ring seal. The old one was falling apart as I took it out. The grout around the outside of the metal piece was coming off just by rubbing it with a paper towel. Parts of the metal piece where the bolts to secure the toilet go were corroded.

I'm new to plumbing. I thought this would be a simple job. What all do I need to do to fix this? I was thinking remove grout, remove and replace metal piece, new grout and seal it, replace wax ring. Anything else I need to do?

BoerneGator
AG
Been a few years since I've done that chore, but I'm thinking you don't want that grout to be level/flush with the ring. And it appears there is grout in the "locking slots" of the ring as well, or is that just the old wax you haven't removed? Hard to tell.
Señor Chang
AG
The wax ring will sit on top of that. I think it's grout and rusted metal in there. The bottom half of the old bolts had completely fallen apart.
Aggie1
AG
There are new flexible/expandable rubber rings that are not wax to make up variations and height differences at Lowe's...

Then, there are thicker/taller wax rings available as well.
Belton Ag
AG
You say the metal is corroded, but is it so corroded that the new bolts will not go in and be secure? Is it rusted through?
Texker
AG
This.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/DANCO-Perfect-Seal-Toilet-Wax-Ring-10718X/204817386
Señor Chang
AG