New golfer advice

4,548 Views | 45 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Icecream_Ag
aggiefan2002
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I am very new to golf and trying to get better. Currently shooting about 115-125 after just a couple rounds but with enough really nice shots to have me hooked. I have a lesson with a pro soon and will plan to have another 2-3 after that. My time is limited so my best bet is to play a round every other week with a trip to driving range on the weeks in between.

That being said, how quickly can I expect to get better if i listen to the pro and am an athletic male in my 30's?

Also, any tips for scoring better while I'm still pretty green? Not "practice" but other tips and tricks for scoring well while I work out the kinks.

Finally, at what handicap does equipment make a difference? I use a set right now that's probably worth about $400 total. When does dropping some coin on a good set really make a difference?

Thanks all!
LeFraud
Keep the ball in play and limit your 3+ putts. Do those two things and you'll be amazed how much your score will drop. You can get away with sculling a chip, or hitting an iron fat, but if you are constantly OB or always taking several putts to get home, it will kill you score. As far as clubs go, until you're consistently breaking 100, I'm guessing your clubs are just fine...imo of course.

aggiefan2002
Thanks! Realistic scoring expectations based on the above schedule?
LeFraud
Depends. Next time out keep track of how many OBs and putts throughout the round. Every time you go OB, it's 2 strokes. How many putts do you have for a round of 115?
aggiefan2002
I played twice this month.

115 - probably had 2-3 OB's (counted penalty strokes) and putted terribly. Probably 48 putts for round.

125 - same OB's, better putting, probably 42 putts for round. Hit driver awfully all day.
khaos288
AG
quote:
I played twice this month.