Masters Housing Options

1,467 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by BarryProfit
jonj101
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Next year will be my first time attending the Masters, and I wanted to get a feel of preferred housing options from those of you who have attended the event in the past. Our tickets are for a Monday practice round, so we were thinking of staying somewhere within reasonable range Sunday night, heading to AN early Monday morning, and then spending Monday night in the same place.

I understood going into it that everything would be more expensive during the tournament, but considering my searches are revealing ridiculous prices for even the Microtel Inn, so far I'm considering two options:

1) Air Bnb - the shared room service has a few options in Augusta that are priced good. However I've never used this option before and am somewhat apprehensive about renting a room in someone's house. My wife prefers this idea because it will be a shorter drive than my second option,

2) Stay in Columbia, SC and drive about an hour in to AN, and then an hour in the evening. This seems like the better option to me because the room choices are plentiful and reasonably priced, and apparently there are significant food options in Columbia. After walking the course and spending the entire day at AN, I don't think an hour drive will be that bad.

Either way we're going to have a rental car because we're flying into either Atlanta or Charleston (Free flights with Southwest), so I'm wondering if we do the Columbia option if there is anything in the town/area that would make it worthwhile to spend an extra day or two to experience.

TIA for suggestions.
khaos288
AG
Has your wife stayed in an AirBnB before? even my best experiences weren't exactly praise worthy
Hoyt Ag
AG