Golf Lessons in Houston

2,952 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Unemployed
justsomeguy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm new to golf and while my friends have been helping me with my swing, I feel like I could benefit even more from a few golf lessons from a professional. If anyone has any recommendations on someone or somewhere near Houston, please let me know.
07fta07
AG
The Houston area is big. Where are you located?
justsomeguy
AG
Oak Forest area at 610 North & Ella
Ag_07
AG
Honestly, if you're just starting out I wouldn't spend a ton of money on a fancy pro that does video analysis amd all that jazz.

I've heard from friends that the lady at the range on Acorn gives pretty good lessons. She's an LPGA instructor and pretty close.
Chipotlemonger
AG
Agreed, no video analysis needed if you're that new to the game. Lots of fundamentals to be taught and learned before over saturating your mind with "positions" and what not.

Also, will greatly depend on your swing as is. Video is great but in moderation when starting like that. Sometimes you'll mess with your mind.
justsomeguy
AG
Yeah I definitely am not interested in a video analysis. I want to get lessons on my golf swing in general and the fundamentals. I saw Memorial has several instructors as do most other courses, but am unsure who is good and who is not...
ThreatLevel: Midnight
AG
I would give the LPGA instructor at 5050 Acorn (Janet) a shot. Or at least contact her to find out what her pricing looks like.
http://www.5050acorngolf.com/services.html
If the LPGA instructor isn't your speed then you might ask 5050 if there is anyone else they would recommend.