Short Approach

2,004 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by birdman
TX_Aggie37
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I just started playing regularly back in April, and have seen significant improvement in my putting and off the tee. My short approach (50-100 yards) sucks something awful though. I always get in my head and either blade it past the green or catch it fat leaving it short. Any quick tips that y'all focus on to improve this aspect of your game? I've worked on not slowing down my swing and just adjusting back-swing for distance, but was wondering if y'all had any other advice. This fix would easily save me at least 5 strokes a round I think.
bagger05
AG
What do you typically hit that distance?

If I'm 50-100 out and I have a fluffy lie or a good lie in the fairway, I typically will just play a normal wedge shot.

If I don't like the lie (too soggy or too hard) then I like to play something like an 8-iron and play some bump and run if I can.
AggieIce
AG
Using a wedge (52-60) on shots like that take a lot of practice and confidence.

Like Bagger said sometimes it is easier to use a 8-PW and flight the ball a bit lower and let it release a little on the green. Even if a pin is tucked up front being anywhere on the green is usually a bonus if you're having issues with short game pitches/shots
jj9000
AG
If I'm 20-80 yards out I typically play a 58* and adjust for distance by gripping down on the club and taking a full swing.

80-100 yards I do the same thing with a 54*.

Take whatever club you hit a certain distance to the range and hit nothing else but that club...rinse and repeat the next day...then the next day.
NOBEVO
AG
Dave Peltz's Short Game Bible. Use the "Clock" program taking various wedges back specific lengths. Works wonders in your short game.
CapCity12thMan
AG