Valero Texas Open

2,691 Views | 21 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by RGRAg1/75
CashinOut
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
A lot of good golfers will be in San Antonio this weekend. I'm going to try to sneak off on Thursday and get out there for the opening round and maybe again Saturday.

What are some things to know about the course? This is my first time to see a PGA event so I'm trying to see as much as I can.
Corporal Punishment
AG
If you're headed there on Thursday then you're already doing it right.

I haven't been to that particular event but in general getting there early during round one during spring weather is a glorious way to spend a morning. You can freely move around and follow your favorite pros without any problems.
boy09
AG
The area around the 2/7 shared green and 8 tee box is a good spot to post up for a while if you need a break from walking.
Cavender Neutze
AG
Tough course to make your tournament debut. Make sure you wear some comfortable shoes, that course is extremely spread out.
Tony Franklins Other Shoe
AG
Planning either Friday or Saturday, more likely Friday. need to look at tee times tomorrow and see the groups to determine who to watch, hopefully will have them clustered together some.
Matsui
AG
2 green/3 tee/7 green/8 tee is a great spot to watch

and definitely go out thur/fri
you can get around certain groups where there are 10-15 people standing around watching, makes it better

also par 5 14th green is good to see a lot of birdies

there are 2 lines of thinking with watching golf live, either be stationary and let the groups come to you or walk 2-3 holes ahead of the groups you want to see, stay there until they come through, then walk 2-3 more holes in front of them again. you will quickly find out that it is darn near impossible to keep pace with the group. they walk quickly.
98Ag99Grad
AG
How much rain did the course get this past weekend?
agfan2013
AG