Questions From A Newbie

4,928 Views | 26 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by God-Family-Friends-Ag FB
BESCo91
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy.
I am a NOVICE .... fair warning.

Like a dumb ass, I started playing golf (first time ever) in July at the age of 45.
See, I am an idiot.

During the last 5 months, I have played a lot (at least once a week) and hit the driving range MANY times.
I live in Colorado so golf outings are few and far between in the winter months.
I am playing today here at my neighborhood course, and twice next week down in Houston.

I tend to putt fairly well (two-putt a lot, some three-putts for sure).
My approach shots (which for me is inside of 50 yards) are pretty good & fairly consistent.

I purchased a set of Adams Golf a12os hybrid irons in early October, and hit them pretty well.
- GW, PW, 9, 8, 7 are 'iron looking' but have a wide sole, perimeter weighted, cavity back.
- 6, 5, 4 are hybrids.

I don't hit a driver right now (I get intimidated) ...... I hit an old Calloway Big Bertha 3 wood off the tee and on the fairway.

My questions for y'all are:
1) What driver would you recommend for a novice, older golfer? Are senior clubs a consideration?
2) What fairway woods would you recommend for a novice, older golfer? Are senior clubs a consideration?

Thanks,
BESCo91
BTHO LSU!
Icecream_Ag
S
quote:
1) What driver would you recommend for a novice, older golfer? Are senior clubs a consideration?
2) What fairway woods would you recommend for a novice, older golfer? Are senior clubs a consideration?
1) senior clubs refers to the shaft flex, go into a golfsmith/golf galaxy and just get your swing speed.
As for recommendations, any of the big names are good, it will depend on what fits your eye/checkbook. I really like the new Cobras, but dont get enough distance/accuracy increase to change drivers ATM.
2) see above. Also look into some stronger hybrids if you arent comfortable with woods.
BESCo91
AG
Thanks Icecream.
AgDotCom